

Boileor Bosers Speed to Fun

by Wayne Monger, NTMC Co-Chairman

1990 7th Annual National Track Motorcar his first year to participate. Eleventh: Bruce Championship Races results held on August 4, 1990 at the Portola Railroad Museum.

1-Cylinder Class results.

First: Brian and Darby Johnston of Livermore, California representing the Western Railway Museum at Rio Vista, California. Operating an ex-Western Pacific M-9 built in 1940. Winning time was 31.25 seconds. First year of participation. Second place: Ronald Allen of Carson City, Nevada. Operating an ex-Santa Fe S-2 built in 1929. Best time of 31.27 seconds, and a top speed of 36.8 mph. Last year he placed first in the onecylinder class. Third place: Bob Mahan of Ventura, California. Operating an ex-American Crystal Sugar and ex-Ventura County Railway S-2 built in 1957. Best time of 31.78 seconds and a top speed of 36.8 mph. He placed first in 1986, and second in 1989. Fourth: Dave McClain of Colfax, California. Operating an ex-Western Pacific M-14 built in 1942 and owned by John Ryczkowski of Reno. Best time was 37.37 seconds and a top speed of 27.8 mph. This car last participated in 1985 and placed fourth then. Fifth: Errol Spangler of Sunnyvale, California, representing Vintage Railway Equipment. Operating an ex-Santa Fe S-2 built in 1952. Best time of 39.27 seconds and a top speed of 32.1 mph. Errol ran an M-9 in previous races, getting second place in 1988, and third in 1989. Sixth: Bill Banta of Turlock, California. Operating an ex-NP S-2 built in 1942. Best time was 40.18 seconds and a top speed of 25.6 mph. This was his first year to participate. Seventh: Wayne Monger of Benicia. California co-chairman of the NTMC. Operating an ex-WP M-19 built in 1940. Best time was 41.05 seconds and a top speed of 24.9 mph. This car has participated in 4 previous races, placing 4th in 1989. Eighth: Steve Bush of Auburn, California. Operating an ex-Sacramento Northern M-19 built in 1942. Best time was 41.32 seconds and a top speed of 24.7 mph. He has participated in 4 of the previous 6 races, placing 5th in 1988. Ninth: John Bailie of Sacramento, California. Operating an ex-Western Pacific M-19 built in 1940. Best time was 43.44 seconds and a top speed of 25.5 mph. This is his first year to participate. Tenth: Tom Wellbaum of Altadena, California. Operating an ex-Santa Fe M-19 built in 1937. Best time was 45.70 seconds and a top speed of 19.9 mph. This is 34.16 seconds with a top speed of 24.5 mph.

Cooper of Portola, California representing the FRRS. Operating an ex-WP M-19 built in 1942. Best time was 46.10 seconds an a top speed of 21.9 mph. This is his second year to participate, placing 5th in 1989, but this car when previously owned by Steve Milward captured first in 1984, second in 1985, and third in both 1986 and 1987. Twelfth: Greg Brahms of Santa Rosa, California. Operating an ex-WP M-19 built in 1949. As Greg was helping out with the finish line crew, he made but one run with a time of 47.63 seconds and a top speed of 19.6 mph. He last participated in 1985 and placed eighth. Finish of 1 cylinder class.

2-Cylinder Class.

"AA" Series results

First: William Kaminski of Grand Terrace, California. Operating an ex-CB&Q M-19-AA built in 1963. Best time of 29.07 seconds and a top speed of 38.8 mph. This car has placed second three times in a row, in 1987, 1988, and 1989, one of these in a different class. Second: Tom Moungovan of Sebastopol, California. Operating an ex-WP M-19-AA built in 1953. Best time of 33.54 seconds and a top speed of 31.6 mph. This car has placed second in 1988 and 1986 with exact same times of 33.64 seconds and third in 1985. Third: Hank Stiles of Portola, California representing the FRRS. Operating an ex-WP ST-2-AA built in 1960. Best time was 35.24 seconds and a top speed of 26.8 mph. This car placed fourth in 1989. End results.

2-Cylinder Class "MT" series result

First: Andrew Hosken of Los Angeles, California. Operating an ex-SP MT-19 built in 1969. Best time was 29.55 seconds with a top speed of 36.9 mph. This is his first year to participate. Second: Bill Vogel of Hayward, California. Operating an ex-UP MT-19 built in 1977. Best time was 31.95 seconds with a top speed of 34.0 mph. This is the first year for this car, but Bill participated in 1989 with an M-9 that earned 6th place. Third: Vic Neves of San Leandro, California representing "The Lark" railfan magazine. Operating an ex-SP MT-19 built in 1980. Best time was 32.86 seconds with a top speed of 34.9 mph. This car placed first in 1989, third in 1988. Fourth: Mike Mulder of Turlock, California. Operating an ex-UP MT-19A built in 1985. Best time was

This was his first year to participate. Fifth Steve Milward of Applegate, California. Op erating an ex-UP MT-19 built in 1967. Bes time was 35.32 seconds with a top speed o 34.1 mph. This was the first year for thi car, but Steve has participated in several pas races, getting first in 1984 with an M-1 now owned by Bruce Cooper. Sixth: Dav Anderson of Sacramento, California. Operat ing an ex-UP MT-14 built in 1975. Bes time was 37.64 seconds with a top speed o 31.3 mph. This car came in 5th in 1989 End MT series results.

Modified Class

First: Gary Mitchell of Cathedral City, Cali fornia representing G.E.M. Engineering Operating a prototype 4-seat "Interurbal Rail Shuttle" powered by a 200cc Yamaha 1 cylinder engine, built in 1990. Best tim was 23.01 seconds with a top speed of 43. mph. This is the first year that he has par ticipated. Second: Tom Mercer of Sacramen to, California. Operating an ex-SP MT-19/ built in 1949 equipped with rubber tires Best time was 28.10 seconds with a top speeof 34.3 mph. He placed 3rd in 1989. Third Gary Boots of Paradise, California. Operating an ex-UP MT-19 built in 1975 equipped with rubber tires. Best time was 28.15 sec onds with a top speed of 32.5 mph. H placed second in 1989. END Modified Clas-

Exhibition Cars

MTC #44 Gang Car rebuilt by Bob Beattie o Carson City, Nevada for the FRRS in 1989 Equipped with a "Souped-up" 8-cylinder engine and other racing gear. Best time was 24.6 seconds with a top speed of 42.7 mph. A-5C rebuilt by Bob Beattie of Carson City Nevada. This car has been rebuilt in 1990 with a replacement 4-cylinder engine, and is also owned by the FRRS. Best time was 35.55 seconds with a top speed of 28.6 mph

Thanks!

The following people need to be thanked for their participation in the 7th Annual NTM Races this year. Without these people, this event would not take place.

Norman Holmes -- master of ceremonies/ public address announcer

Gary Cousin -- start-line judge Ed Warren -- scoreboard recorder Dave Waters -- official timekeeper Gordon Wolleson -- finish line judge Lynda Monger -- radar gun operator Dale Wyant -- for building and providing

the timing devices this year

Mardi Vincent -- finish line assistant Greg Brahms -- finish line assistant Larry Wines -- finish line assistant

Vic Neves -- providing the PA system and especially to NTMC co-chairman Ror Butler of Salinas who got everything set up but couldn't attend due to a family illness. A Special thanks to Ralph Womack, the Portols Coors Distributor, for start and finish line banners, and for printing advertising flyers